Perception of Reality

Just Because You Fail in any One Domain, That Does Not Mean You are Spiritually Lazy

John Ege
10 min readJun 17, 2021

I am going to own this right off the bat. I struggle with right thinking. I seek clarity and improvement, and though I can sometimes hit the ball, my ability to play doesn’t rise to even minor league status.

In a bit of insight today, I accept this may not mean I what I think it means.

a corner of our board at the front desk

Shout out to Aubrey Marcus

In a podcast I viewed today, I was given this nice little bit of information that unlocked something. This is not something new, precisely. I have struggled with it a long time. For example, as a child I would discuss problems with Sunday school teachers, we attended Church of Christ, and I was told, in no uncertain terms, “you’re not praying hard enough.” That advice was consistent until I quit church at age 18.

When it comes to spirituality, many people, like way too many people, equate success in any domain as being square with the Universe. Aubrey reminded me this is not true. I am not a Lebron James. There is no training in the world that will help me overcome my genetic limitations sufficiently to compete. I have had chronic asthma since birth. I am not athletic. The reason people winning the gold medal are celebrated is because they…

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.