The Ride

Solarchariot’s Moonlander Camper

The minimalist, spartan truck camping adventure begins.

John Ege
16 min readFeb 7, 2024

--

Radica is a company in Denver, Colorado that custom builds the Moonlander camper. It’s essentially a topper, but it’s more than a ‘just’ a topper, in the same way Wonka chocolate is not ordinary chocolate. Below, you will find a link to Radica, as well as a link of Luke, the owner, introducing his company’s product. In between that, I’ll share a bit of dream camping, a touch of music, a video or two, and me taking another big step towards actually getting out there. You will not find a link to the new Wonka movie, but I will say it is worth seeing. “Come with me, and you’ll see…”

Solarchariot’s Moonlander

Part of the journey is researching the variety of products available. In terms of versatility, budget, durability, adaptability, the Moonlander met all of my personal check boxes. If and when the ‘need to go’ strikes me, it’s always installed. I just pack and go.

I committed to it last year, with a pick up date of Feb 5th. That was this week. The quality that comes with custom building takes a moment. I sent them my truck specs and, magically, they produced the perfect Moonlander for my truck. I know, not magic… but with my math illiteracy, it seems like PFM. I was excited and wanted it immediately. I had to wait. Past Christmas…

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.