Life Plans

the Meandering Path of Life

John Ege
3 min readOct 12, 2021

As a kid, I had dreams, but no plans. Mostly, I was focused on survival- crazy family and child health problems. Multiple times doctors told my family not to expect me living past the week. I think that got translated into an unspoken, family protocol of no expectations and demands put on this one. That could be evidence of bad math on my part. Most of the family was simply surviving. For most of my life, I was ever on a threshold of failure and survival, rarely approached the thriving line, and when I did- I tended to self sabotage. Do we teach sustainable steps to thriving, or is this a sink or swim world?

https://sherptek.com/

The ADHD approach to life had me wandering. There were some pockets of stabilities. For example, 24 years employment with the airline was something. Twelve years of plugging away at an undergrad arrived me on the other side of that. I completed a masters. Only now am I seriously considering plans for retirement. I didn’t think I would live this long. The dream now, a tiny little camper pulled behind a truck, if not a truck-bed camper, and live simply, on the road. No more foundation leaks… But I wonder what challenges I will be trading for.

The Camper Dream Life

There are quite a few people who have taken the leap and lived in campers, some of them having written on Medium.

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.