Philosophically

The Most Practical Superpower

If you could have one ability, what would you choose?

John Ege
5 min readJul 13, 2023

--

I spent some time contemplating the superpower I would like to have. I think I narrowed it down to one that doesn’t require additional superpowers just to make it work right. What if every superpower you crave had a caveat that makes it not worth having? Would you still want it, or would it depend on the caveat?

The Who, Who Are You

I have certainly entertained flying like superman. I have flown in hot air balloons, in airplanes big and small,and even jumped out of a plane. Flying comes with hazards. Yeah, it looks nice if you can just hover, but you never really stay in one place. You go where the wind goes. You now have to compensate to hold, and so you may look like you’re standing still, you actually have some momentum. Even people flying in Minecraft take fall damage.

To fly, you have to have super strength, or some really good armor. Magical armor.

I have entertained invisibility. Now, from a psychological standpoint, those who choose invisibility are suspect. They’re sneaky. I own my sneakiness. Going sideways was a survival skill in my family. Being invisible would have been a lifesaver on multiple occasions! But once I do it, I am going to be hanging out in places I don’t need to be…

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.