Read It!

The Other Log Of Phileas Fogg, review

If you’ve read Around the World in 80 Days, by Jules Verne, you’re going to want to read this, too.

John Ege
7 min readJul 21, 2024

--

This rare gem goes unnoticed. I found it a while hovering back in a quiet corner of a used book store, probably the best book store in Denton, Texas, on the square. I am neither confirming or denying it’s haunted. If you’re ever up that way, you should really hit the square. If you have time, you should go in the book store. If you find this book, you should buy it. Never loan it out. You won’t get it back. I know. I have loaned several copies out, and so now, if I find this book, I still buy it to ‘give’ it out because I know I won’t get it back. Have you read any books by Philip José Farmer?

You’re probably familiar with Around the World in 80 Days, even if you haven’t read the book. The thing about the movies is that it doesn’t quite capture the peculiarities of the book. Phileas Fogg was obsessed with time. There is page after page of just oddities that might make someone wonder. Philip José Farmer wondered and he rewrote that book into this book.

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.