Movie Madness

The Price of Hollywood’s Fall: Movies, Corruption, and Redemption

When the soul of cinema is sacrificed for profit and power, what do we lose in the process — and can we ever get it back?

John Ege
9 min read3 days ago

--

I have certainly shared my thoughts and feelings about movies. I am a movie fanatic. I love everything about movies, the sets, the soundtracks, the scripts, the lighting, the costumes, the actors and actresses, the philosophies, the way they can be used for fun or for healing or both. I have lamented the decline of movies. I have felt like some of my core movie franchises were intentionally destroyed. Why would anyone destroy something that is loved and profitable? What if the reason they were destroyed was so horrible that no one could say it directly?

The ring may be precious, but we’re going to throw it in the lava. What I am going to suggest would have been unfathomable 20 years ago, though there was evidence. Evidence such as Judy Garland told you what happened to her making the movie Wizard of Oz, which was probably worse than what Margaret Hamilton experienced in terms of what happened to her during that movie. One was bad actors doing bad things, the other was just an accident.

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.