Conflict Resolution

The Resilience of Neglected Souls

John Ege
6 min readMar 9, 2022

I preface this with “I am a child.” It’s a very important meme to hold. It recognizes the fact that though I may have knowledge and solution sets, or suggestions, I have no power. The thing I hold the most is love. More often than not, when parents go to war, they solicit alliance. Children are always collateral damage in family feuds. Winning battles is not winning wars. The war gets raged over the lifetime. Childhood is gone. Adolescents is dark. If you survive long enough in early adulthood, you might be lucky enough to find some peace when you’re older. Unless, even though you spent your life in the pursuit of peace, the leaders of the world persist in family feuds.

Parents fighting can impact the child mentally and emotionally.

Photos, staged and real, are memes. They are likely unfair. Words are often unfair. I am a child and easily influenced. I have an idea of right and wrong. I have idea of fairness. I will abandon these concepts when I am afraid of being abandoned. I have heard holidays are the hardest seasons for people, where depression and suicide goes up. Am I a sampling of this? I have certainly experienced this. There were times when family was so unreasonable, I was contemplating self deletion as an escape. I took the harder route, and suffered in silence, trying not to pick sides. I love my family, imperfectly. I sometimes took sides. There is a perverse pleasure at…

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.