This Symbolic Life

The Star Trek Connection to Space Force

John Ege
5 min readAug 3, 2021

I know. I have been here before. In Evidence of a Secret Space Force, I presented images from China’s Rover, US Space Force Flag, and other space agencies having symbols very similar to those presented to us in Star Trek: TOS, a show that came from the 1960s. I can imagine a world where Gene Rodenberry influenced the world so much that in 2019, almost 60 years later, the Space Force would adopt an image to honor Gene’s vision, the most optimistic human vision of space exploration. That vision still makes sense to me.

In my Medium readings today, I came across a new artifact. The UK Badge for space operations. I present, Star Trek. No, not my hands.

The new badge is to signify excellence in space professionals. It should. That’s Trek. Why did I get so much hell for wearing my Star Trek badge? You would think that day I was at Space Camp and was accidentally launched into space I would have earned a space badge. I mean, that was in the 80s, prior to NASA changing the rules so passengers can’t earn the title astronaut. Wait a minute. That wasn’t me. That was a movie. So hard to sort memories sometimes.

I am a little sad NASA changed the rules on the defining attributes of being an astronaut. Sure, I probably would never have had a million dollars to blow on a trip to low orbit, but I was hopeful. Ever hopeful.

Star Trek

--

--

John Ege

LPC-S, Director for MUFON, TX, and father of 1... Discovering the Unseen through Art, Word, Thought, and Mystery.